|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Library & Remote Use | Career Transitions Complete, self-paced application that walks job-seekers through the entire process from assessing strengths and interests, to exploring new opportunities, to ultimately improving the chances of landing a job. Requires a Springfield City Library card. |
| Library Use Remote Use |
Chilton's Auto Repair ChiltonLibrary.com provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today. Ford, Chrysler, GM. Honda, Toyota and numerous other makes are well-represented. Step-by-step instructions, which include helpful diagrams, are provided for work on the engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, suspension, and more. Wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules, and recall and service bulletins are included. Requires a Springfield City Library card. Note: Not Mac-compatible. |
| Library & Remote Use | Learning Express (Learn-A-Test) Practice for such tests as the GED, SAT and AP, ASVAB, Civil Service, TOEFL, and many others in the privacy of your home. Recently updated to include practice tests on the new SAT 2005. Register with your library card number and a password of your choice. Requires a Springfield City Library card. |
| Library & Remote Use | PowerSpeak Languages A language learning program which uses an arsenal of approaches that combine systematic learning processes with innovative, yet proven, methods in courses tailored specifically to each language. Languages included are: Spanish, German, French, ESL Spanish, and Mandarin. Requires a Springfield City Library card. |
| Library Use (Central Library only) |
BGMI (Biography & Genealogy Master Index) Citations to reference books and other publications containing biographical material on persons, both living and deceased, including authors, scientists, athletes, fashion designers, musicians, etc. Entries contain names, birth/death years and citations to published articles. Results indicate which items include portraits. Contains 4 million+ names and points to 1,000+ publications. Please consult a librarian for assistance in locating reference materials. |
| Library & Remote Access | NEW! Biography in Context (Gale InfoTrac) Thousands of online full-text biographies from Gale reference books. Includes Encyclopedia of World Biography, Who's Who Among African-Americans, Maclean's, Contemporary Authors, and many more important biographical reference sources. Search by name, occupation, ethnicity, and more. Includes portraits where available, and links to thumbnail bios and online periodical articles from other InfoTrac databases where appropriate. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Literature Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac) Included in Literature Resource Center are biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources, providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works, more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews from over 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines, more than 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews. |
| Library Use | Merriam-Webster Unabridged Access to the full-text of Merriam-Webster's flagship dictionary, plus the Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and Merriam-Webster Atlas. Courtesy of the Merriam-Webster Company. |
| Library Use (Central Library only) |
BGMI (Biography & Genealogy Master Index) Citations to reference books and other publications containing biographical material on persons, both living and deceased, including authors, scientists, athletes, fashion designers, musicians, etc. Entries contain names, birth/death years and citations to published articles. Results indicate which items include portraits. Contains 4 million+ names and points to 1,000+ publications. Please consult a librarian for assistance in locating reference materials. |
| Library & Remote Access | Biography Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac) Thousands of online full-text biographies from Gale reference books. Includes Encyclopedia of World Biography, Who's Who Among African-Americans, Maclean's, Contemporary Authors, and many more important biographical reference sources. Search by name, occupation, ethnicity, and more. Includes portraits where available, and links to thumbnail bios and online periodical articles from other InfoTrac databases where appropriate. |
| Library Use Remote Use |
African-American History Online (Facts on File) Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. |
| Library Use Remote Use |
American History Online (Facts on File) Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. |
| Library Access Remote Access |
American Women's History Online (Facts on File) Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Global Issues In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique “perspectives” articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia – including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs – enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database. |
| Library & Remote Use
|
Massachusetts History Online (Gale InfoTrac) Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! U.S. History In Context (Gale InfoTrac) An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! World History In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Gale World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
Library & Remote Use |
NEW! Biography in Context (Gale InfoTrac) Thousands of online full-text biographies from Gale reference books. Includes Contemporary Authors and many more important biographical reference sources. Search by name, occupation, ethnicity, and more. Includes portraits where available, and links to thumbnail bios and online periodical articles from other InfoTrac databases where appropriate. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Books & Authors (Gale InfoTrac) Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation. |
| Library & Remote Use | Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (Gale InfoTrac) An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Literature Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac) Included in Literature Resource Center are biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources, providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works, more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Literature Resources from Gale Literature Resources from Gale is a combination of the individual Gale resources LitFinder and Literature Resource Center to allow you to search these two products together. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! LitFinder (Gale InfoTrac) Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more! From Shakespeare’s sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx, LitFinder has you covered. |
| Library Use Remote Use |
NoveList Need some ideas on what novels to read? This reader's advisory tool will help. Search award and prize booklists by genre; search by plot, title, or author to find similar books; browse books by subject; explore fiction through genres and subcategories; read reviews, descriptions and articles; etc. Records from your search are linked to Springfield City Library catalog searches by title or author. |
| Library Use Remote Use |
Grove Art Online Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art , ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art , ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 2,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac) Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. |
| Library & Remote Use | Health Reference Center Academic (Gale InfoTrac) Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, substance abuse, HMOs, etc. Plus medical directories, pamphlets, and a dictionary. Materials in this database are intended for informational purposes only. Full-text, abstracts, citations from 1980 to the present, updated daily. Material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Science In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
| Library Use Remote Use |
Science Online (Facts on File) Contains extensive information on a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes biographies, essays on cutting-edge science issues, science experiments, diagrams and a searchable timeline of scientific and medical discoveries. Note: use capital "D" when entering library card number. |
| Library Use (Central Library only) |
Associated Grant Makers of Massachusetts Access to the extensive resources of AGM, a regional association of grant makers, both foundations and corporations with giving programs, serving in, or making grants in Massachusetts and New Hampshire. including Grant Makers and Nonprofit Directories, RFPs, KnowledgeBase, Consultants & Resources Database, and more. Users should delete their marked records before leaving for the day. In-library use only. See a librarian for username & password. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Business and Company Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac) Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. The power to answer all types of business queries is at your fingertips with this resource. Unlike other business resources available online, this comprehensive database offers a dynamic research opportunity, providing accurate, up-to-date company and industry intelligence for thousands of firms. Provides access to a wide variety of global business information including competitive intelligence, career and investment opportunities, business rankings, company histories and much more. Search this electronic resource to find detailed company and industry news and information. |
| Library Use (Central Library only) |
Foundation Directory Online (FDO) A searchable database of 80,000+ U.S. foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate givers, including sponsoring company information. Additional program information and expanded application guidelines for larger funders. Links to over 7,400 grantmaker and corporate Web sites. Links to IRS 990-PF and 990 returns. See a librarian for assistance. |
| Library Use (Central Library only) |
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (GTIO) A searchable online database of more than 6,200 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. See a librarian for assistance. |
| Library & Remote Use | General BusinessFile ASAP (Gale InfoTrac) Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Articles on business and management; directory of 150,000+ companies; investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries. Use advanced search for Company profiles, SIC descriptions, and Investext Select (investment reports & forecasts). Full-text and citations from 1980 to the present. |
| Library Use (Central Library Only) |
NEW! Philanthropy In/Sight This interactive mapping tool was designed for grantmakers, policymakers, researchers, academics -- virtually anyone interested in the impact of philanthropy around the world today. In/Sight combines the Foundation Center's rich data on grantmakers and their grants with familiar Google maps to tell the story of philanthropy. Choosing from a wide range of customization options, users can quickly create maps that reveal patterns of giving and funding relationships as never before. Plus, users can overlay grant data with their choice of over 150 demographic, socio-economic, and other data sets to create compelling visual portraits showing where philanthropy has made an impact and where opportunities exist to fill critical needs. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! RDS Business Suite (Gale InfoTrac) Gives you balanced and highly focused full-text coverage of company and industry news, management practices, and market research information. By combining the complementary strengths of Business & Industry, Business and Management Practices, and TableBase Gale delivers a comprehensive business research package. Acknowledged for their own distinct focuses and areas of expertise, these databases form a core business reference collection featuring more than 1,400 leading worldwide business sources, plus tens of thousands of tables with strategic data. Suite coverage is over 60% full text, and over 45% international. |
| Library & Remote Use |
Reference USA For free webinars (through September 2011) on using the database, click here. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Global Issues In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique “perspectives” articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia – including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs – enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database. |
| Library & Remote Use | Kids InfoBits (Gale InfoTrac) Meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. |
| Library & Remote Use | InfoTrac K-12 Junior Edition (Gale InfoTrac) This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. |
| Library & Remote Use | InfoTrac Student Edition (Gale InfoTrac) This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. |
| Library & Remote Use | Learning Express (Learn-A-Test) Practice for such tests as the GED, SAT and AP, ASVAB, Civil Service, TOEFL, and many others in the privacy of your home. Recently updated to include practice tests on the new SAT 2005. Register with your library card number and a password of your choice. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Literature Resource Center (Gale InfoTrac) Literature Resource Center is the world's most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Uniquely relevant to today's curriculum, Literature Resource Center's rich critical, biographical and contextual materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Included in Literature Resource Center are biographical entries on more than 135,000 authors, from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources, providing detailed biographical, bibliographical and contextual information about authors' lives and works, more than 850,000 full-text articles, critical essays and reviews. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Literature Resources from Gale Literature Resources from Gale is a combination of the individual Gale resources LitFinder and Literature Resource Center to allow you to search these two products together. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! LitFinder (Gale InfoTrac) Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more! From Shakespeare's sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx, LitFinder has you covered. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Science In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Gale Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! Student Resources In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Student Resources in Context offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, this resource provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Premier reference content includes the American Journey Series, and American Decades. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! U.S. History In Context (Gale InfoTrac) An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |
| Library & Remote Use | Virtual Reference Library (Gale InfoTrac) A mix of dozens of full-text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science. Reference Title List. |
| Library & Remote Use | NEW! World History In Context (Gale InfoTrac) Gale World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. |